Posted on April 10, 2019 by staff

12 government ‘Institutes of Technology’ to open across UK


New ‘Institutes of Technology’ are to be set up across the country by the government, Education Secretary Damian Hinds has announced.

The institutes will work through collaborations between universities, Further Education colleges, and leading employers including top firms Nissan, Siemens and Microsoft.

The institutes are designed to close the STEM skills gap by offering digital, advanced manufacturing and engineering training at Level 4 and 5.

They will be based in Swindon, Durham, Exeter, York, and Somerset with four based in London, two in the West Midlands and six in Milton Keynes.

“New technologies are transforming the world of work, and to harness the opportunities on offer we must equip our future workforce with the technical skills they need to thrive, and that the economy needs to grow,” said Prime Minister Theresa May.

The twelve Institutes will be backed by £170 million of Government investment so they have access to state-of-the-art equipment and facilities and will tap into the latest research from their university partners to anticipate the skills needs of the future workplace.

“Microsoft’s collaborations with Milton Keynes College and Cranfield University are helping to develop the next generation of digital experts,” added the company’s General Manager, Customer Success Unit Derrick McCourt.

“This announcement is a hugely positive step forward in ensuring that students and employers are armed with the digital skills they want and need – both now and in the future.”

The latest announcement is part of a larger Government plan for technical education, which includes introducing new a new ‘T Level’ qualification from next year, which will work as a technical equivalent to an A Level.