Posted on January 1, 2020 by staff

Tech leaders recognised in 2020’s New Year’s Honours list


Leaders in the UK’s technology sector have been recognised in 2020’s New Year Honours list, alongside the likes of Sir Elton John, cricketer Ben Stokes and actress Olivia Newton-John.

Announced on behalf of the Queen, the list hopes to recognise the achievements and service of people across the UK.

This year’s list reportedly contains 14 per cent honours in the science, technology and health sectors.

In the technology sector, among those recognised was Kim Mears, MD strategic infrastructure development at Openreach, who received an OBE.

Mears previously led the roll-out of faster broadband and is now focused on a fibre roll-out via Openreach.

Andrew Bud, CEO of biometric authentication platform iProov and global chairman of the Mobile Ecosystem Forum, received a CBE for services to exports in Science and Technology.

Commenting on the honour, Bud said: “This award recognises the ever-growing importance of technology and innovation to the international standing of the UK, and it is a privilege to build global businesses with the extraordinary talent, energy and commitment that exists in this country.”

Dr Caroline Hargrove, CTO of Babylon Health, received a CBE for services to Engineering.

AI HealthTech unicorn Babylon was among the UK’s top tech funding raises of 2019, securing $550m in August 2019.

Others recognised include Yewande Modupe Mayomi-Akinola, principal engineer at Laing O’Rourke, who was recognised for services to engineering and to diversity in science and technology.

Andrew William Graham Wylie received a CBE for his role as chair and founder of Technology Services Group, and for services to business and to charity.

Andrew James Green, formerly chair of Digital Catapult and chair of the Space Sector Council was recognised for services to the Information Technology Sector and to the British Space Industry.

Others honoured include:

  • Dr Mahiben Maruthappu, co-founder and chief executive Officer Cera, for services to Health and Social Care Technology
  • Timothy Robinson, non-executive director at the Department for International Development, for services to Digital Technology
  • Dr Andrew Dawson Taylor, OBE, FRS, formerly Executive director of National Laboratories, Science and Technology Facilities Council, for services to Science and Technology
  • Jeanette Linda Forbes, CEO at PCL Group for services to Business, Technology and to Charity
  • Sir Thomas Collingwood Hughes, Bt consultant in emergency medicine at Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust for services to Healthcare Technology and Information
  • Paul Anthony Smith, co-founder and chief executive at Officer Ricochet, for services to Technology in Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Agnes Mitchell Johnstone, head of Mathematics Oban High School, for services to STEM Education and the community in Oban
  • Jennifer Mary Body, a British aerospace engineer, and the former President of the Royal Aeronautical Society, for services to aerospace engineering
  • Rachel Surrethun Coldicutt, chief executive officer at Doteveryone, for services to the digital society
  • Desmond Ralph Crichlow, for services to tertiary education and to the development of IT