Posted on January 18, 2018 by staff

Entries open for Big Chip tech awards


Manchester Digital has launched this year’s Big Chip awards to showcase tech and digital excellence across the North of England.

Now celebrating their 20th year, Big Chip are the UK’s longest running digital and technology awards. They recognise excellent work across the North’s digital and tech sector; anywhere from the Scottish borders down to Derbyshire.

There are 19 entry categories, spanning the entire digital sector in areas including search, UX, gaming and animation, while rising stars will be recognised in the student and apprentice categories.

Two new categories have been added to this year’s awards: Best Application of Machine Learning and the Big Chip Creative Impact Award.

Shaun Fensom, chair of the Big Chip Steering Group, said: “Over 20 years we’ve seen big changes in the digital and tech scene – and throughout Big Chip has been there – driven by and helping to drive the evolving industry, highlighting the best work in the North.

“This year I’m looking forward to see entries from new entrants and in new areas – like our new Best Application of Machine Learning category – along with the usual high standard of entries from the bigger tech and digital players in the North that have grown so much over the history of Big Chip.”

Lawrence Jones, CEO of headline sponsor UKFast, added: “Big Chip is a long-standing symbol of the incredible strength in our digital and tech sectors – and one which we are honoured to play a part in.

“I’m thrilled to sponsor the event once again, and to help shine a light on our leading digital talent.”

Entries will be judged by a panel of distinguished digital and tech experts, led by graphic design innovator Malcolm Garrett and with Baroness Martha Lane Fox – founder of during the boom of the early 2000s and Chancellor of the Open University – as special guest judge to choose the winner of the prestigious Anthony Wilson Award.

The Big Chip Awards will be held at Manchester’s Hilton Hotel on 4th July 2018. The deadline for entries is 19 March, with the shortlist announced on 3 May.