ad placeholder

Posted on July 21, 2017 by staff

This month’s biggest tech events (Jul 24 to Aug 18)

On Thursday, BusinessCloud will be celebrating the North West’s best-kept secret – its booming gaming scene.

The region is now home to thousands of game developers, all striving to launch the next big thing in gaming onto the world.

Cheshire-based Playdemic recently reported their first $1m sales day with their latest game Golf Clash as they eye up annual turnover of $100m.

Manchester’s burgeoning technology sector is well known, few people outside the industry fully appreciate the size and sheer potential of the region’s gaming businesses.

Playdemic’s CEO Paul Gouge will be speaking at BusinessCloud’s gaming breakfast on July 27 at The Foundry, in Salford, which is being supported by Gameopolis.

Several studios will exhibit their games, including Clever Beans’ No.1 smash Wipeout Omega Collection and a demo of its new prototype game; plus indie Odd Bug Studios’ 2D PlayStation VR platformer The Lost Bear.

The event runs from 8am to 10am. Join the discussion on Twitter at #bcvideogames.

This week

Monday 24 July: Why you don’t have to start a business to be happy, London more info

Tuesday 25 July: Virgin StartUp Masterclass: How to mastermind an equity crowdfunding campaign, London more info

Tuesday 25 July: BusinessCloud Tech roundtable, Cardiff more info

Thursday 27 July: The gaming sector – the North West’s best kept secret, Manchester more info

Thursday 27 July: Summer Showcase presented by Tech North and Sheffield Digital, Sheffield more info

Thursday 27 July: VR In Marketing, London more info

Next Week

Monday 31 July: #FASHHACK – Fashion Tech Bootcamp, London more info

Tuesday 1 August: Technology in Government Conference and UK Trade Mission, Australia more info

Thursday 3 August: LDN Talks @ Night | The Future of Health, London more info

Wednesday 2 August: Tech enthusiasts Meetup, Balham more info

Friday 4 August: Digital Radio Group Meeting, London more info

Week after

Tuesday 8 August: Content Masterclass: Two Startup Founders Share Their Darkest SEO & Free Traffic Secrets, London more info

Wednesday 9 August: UK Spectrum Policy Forum – Cluster 2: Transmitter & Receiver Performance, London more info

Thursday 10 August: Bringing IoT Products to Market: Talks by Microchip, Cypress and Koobe/Foxconn, London more info

Later

Thursday 17 August: Optimising the Founder/Director relationship, London more info

Friday 1 September: Queen’s Awards for Enterprise – 2018, London more info