Posted on September 19, 2017 by staff

Shortlist unveiled for Investor Allstars


The shortlist for the 15th annual Investor Allstars Awards 2017 has been announced.

The ceremony celebrates the achievements of investors and entrepreneurs that are shaping the future growth and impact of the European digital economy.

The event, which will take place on 27th September at the Westminster Bridge Park Plaza in London, will bring together the leading figures of Europe’s investment landscape, along with many of the continent’s most successful tech entrepreneurs.

Nick Fry, former CEO and co-owner of Mercedes Formula One, will hold the keynote speech, and Charlotte Hawkins will be the host.

The Investor Allstars Awards event is organised by European technology investment bank GP Bullhound and, a Vitesse Media publication.

“The successes featured in this year’s shortlist are testament to the strength and depth of tech talent across the continent,” GP Bullhound managing partner Manish Madhvani said.

“From world-leading investors to pioneering entrepreneurs, these leaders are at the forefront of the growth of Europe’s digital economy and continue to deliver exceptional returns and impact.”

Technology companies have also been invited to compete for the accolade of being Europe’s most exciting tech firm and be crowned Europe’s Allstar Company of the Year.

Fnatic, Garrison Technology, LendInvest, MSAB and OakNorth will present their pitch on the day of the awards, and the winner will be announced in the evening.

This year’s event also brings a new category – the Tech4Good Award, which recognises a philanthropic tech firm that has that has achieved great social and environmental impact in 2017.

The other award categories include VC Fund of the Year, Exit of the Year, Growth & Buyout Fund of the Year, Investor of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year, Corporate Development Team of the Year, VCT of the Year, Seed Fund of the Year, Service Provider of the Year, Specialist Debt Provider of the Year and Europe’s Allstar Company.

The shortlisted entries for this year are:

Exit of the Year

Aquiline (Simply Business)
Boozt (Verdane Capital Advisors)
InnoGames (Eight Roads)
Purple Bricks ( DN Capital)
SkyScanner (Scottish Equity Partners)
Talend (Idinvest Partners)
Teads (Partech Ventures)

Growth & Buyout Fund of the Year

Eight Roads Ventures
EQT Ventures
Idinvest Partners
Inflexion Private Equity
Kennet Partners
Scottish Equity Partners
TCV (Technology Crossover Ventures)
Verdane Capital Advisors

Entrepreneur of the Year

Alex Prenn (Receipt Bank)
Christian Faes (LendInvest)
Hendrik Klindworth (InnoGames)
Jason Stockwood (Simply Business)
Julia Bösch (OUTFITTERY)
Samir Desai (Funding Circle)
Sandra Sassow (SEaB Energy)
Saurav Chopra (Perkbox)

VC Fund of the Year

Eight Roads
EQT Ventures
Idinvest Partners
Notion Capital
Octopus Ventures
Salesforce Ventures
Scottish Equity Partners
Ventech Capital

Europe’s Allstar Company

Garrison Technology

Corporate Development Team of the Year

Sage Group
ProSiebenSat1 Media SE
Zoopla Property Group

Investor of the Year

Avid Larizadeh Duggan (Google Ventures)
Benoist Grossmann (Idinvest Partners)
Brian Caulfield (Draper Esprit)
Davor Hebel (Eight Roads Ventures)
Jon Coker (MMC Ventures)
Norman Fiore (Dawn Capital)
Sitar Teli (Connect Ventures)
Vishal Gulati (Draper Esprit)

VCT of the Year

Albion Ventures
Foresight Group
Octopus Ventures
YFM Equity Partners

Specialist Debt Provider of the Year

Clydesdale & Yorkshire Bank
Columbia Lake Partners
Idinvest Partners
Kreos Capital
Silicon Valley Bank

Seed Fund of the Year

Accelerated Digital Ventures
Entrepreneur First Operations
Episode 1 Ventures
Forward Partners
MMC Ventures

Service Provider of the Year

Charles Russell Speechlys
JAG Shaw Baker
Mills & Reeve
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe (Europe)
Private Equity Recruitment


Big White Wall
CoderDojo & Raspberry Pi
Freeformers Holdings

Digital Innovation in Art – Sponsored by .ART

Auctions Aftersale
The Artists Web