Posted on November 10, 2017 by staff

Digital Entrepreneur Awards take London by storm


The first of two Digital Entrepreneur Awards ceremonies was held in a glitzy ceremony in London and saw Ash White of Hera London crowned Digital Entrepreneur of the Year in the South.

The DEAs are the only national awards ceremony dedicated to internet entrepreneurialism and have been running for over a decade.

This is the first year the awards have had a separate ceremony in the South, which took place in central London’s illustrious Plaisterers’ Hall.

The theme for the night was ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ and the event was co-hosted by Love Island presenter Ian Stirling and BusinessCloud editor Chris Maguire.

Maguire called the ceremony an “unforgettable night”.

He said: “The Digital Entrepreneur Awards are 13 years old but because of their growing popularity this is the first time we held a London event too.

“The room was packed with more than 220 people, including some of the best tech entrepreneurs from across the south of England.

“Sharing a stage with Iain Stirling, who is the voice of Love Island, was a surreal experience for me personally but contributed to an entertaining evening.”


The Northern DEAs will be in Manchester on 22nd November

There were 19 awards in total, including two special awards that the judges deemed didn’t fit in any existing categories.

White said: “I’m delighted to win but it’s a team effort.  I want to keep growing the Hera London brand globally.”

The northern celebration of the DEAs will take place on the 22nd November at the iconic Principal Hotel in the heart of Manchester city centre.

Hosting firm UKFast were the headline sponsors of the event along with BusinessCloud, OBI Property, Sale Sharks and Tech Manchester as fellow sponsors.

The winners taking home trophies from the night were:

Online Retailer of the Year

Winner: Master of Malt

Shortlist: Challenge Trophiese, HackUp Bespoke, Innermost, Natural Instinct, Wicked Uncle

eCommerce Developer of the Year

Winner: Selesti

Shortlist: GEL Studios, SO Design, Star Digital

eCommerce Business of the Year

Winner: Onefeed

Shortlist: Love The Sales, Master of Malt, Natural Instinct, Veeqo

Best Use of Mobile Technology

Winner: Gatwick Airport

Shortlist: Fit Go, HomeTree, StaySafe

Digital Innovation within the Public Sector

Winner: Satchel

Shortlist: DrDoctor, DXW, National Institute for Healthcare Excellence, The Shop Works, University of Plymouth

Most Innovative use of Digital Technology

Winner: Gatwick Airport

Shortlist: Cognisess, The Groove Musical Experience, IGP, Ieso Digital Health, Metricell

Software Innovation of the Year

Winner: Sonin App Development with Student Swipe

Shortlist: Creative Virtual, Event mApp, Funding Invoice, Hoowla, YellowDog

Social Media Campaign of the Year

Winner: Digital Oyster

Shortlist: Audley Travel, Blue Stag & NERC, Conversion Works, Healthy Pets, Selesti

Most Innovative use of Video or Animation

Winner: Solopress

Shortlist: Generate UK, The Groove Musical Experience, Movem, Natural Instinct, Shocklogic

Web Development Project of the Year

Winner: GEL Studios

Shortlist: Fifty Five and Five, Greenwood Campbell, Kubix, OFIXU, Spinbox, Wirebox

Digital Start-Up of the Year

Winner: Moola

Shortlist: Cera, HeadBox, HERA London, Host Unusual, NuRole, Unforgettable

Digital Agency of the Year

Winner: Lab

Shortlist: Altitude Design Ltd, Cobb Digital, Crowdform, Digital Oyster Ltd, Engine Creative Agency Ltd, Lab, Merkle | Periscopix, Sonin App Development

Digital Team of the Year

Winner: Fonix

Shortlist: Engine Creative Agency, Greenwood Campbell, The Happiness Index, ILG Business, RunAClub, Solopress

Digital Business of the Year (Small)

Winner: Love the Sales

Shortlist: Absolute Label Services, Bulldog Digital Media, Click Mechanic, LOVESPACE, Private Fly, WeGotPOP, Digital Clarity

Digital Business of the Year (Medium to Large)

Winner: Master of Malt

Shortlist: CV-Library, Ieso Digital Health, Metail, Missguided, Solopress, XLN

Young Entrepreneur of the Year

Winner: Miles Noble, Altitude Design

Shortlist: Aamar Aslam, Funding Invoice; Gareth Bull, Bulldog Digital Media; Ann Marie Corbett, Ann Marie’s Dressing Room; Andrew Jervis and Felix Kenton, Click Mechanic; Anne-Laure Le Cunff, Lysa Health; Peter Ramsey, Movem

Digital Entrepreneur of the Year

Winner: Ash White, HERA London

Shortlist: Ed Bussey, Quill Content; Gemma Godfrey, Moola; Peter Gradwell, Gradwell Communications; Steve Miller, The Workplace Depot; Andrew Needham, HeadBox; Melissa Snover, Katjes Magic Candy Factory; James Whiteley, White Stores

Specialist Awards

Business Enablement Platform of the Year

Winner: OFIXU

Best Use of AR/VR

Winner: The Groove Musical